Winners of 2023 WLA Prize announced

2023-09-14 Editor : Li Yan ECNS App Download

Five scientists are recognized as the 2023 WLA Prize laureates, announced the WLA Prize Managment Committee on Thursday in Shanghai. (Photo by Lin Shujuan/

Five scientists were conferred the two individual awards of the 2023 WLA Prize for their ground-breaking achievements in mathematics or life science, the WLA Prize Management Committee announced on Thursday.

The WLA Prize ,a science award initiated by the World Laureates Association, was established at the 4th WLA forum in Shanghai in 2021.

Arkadi Nemirovski from the Georgia Institute of Technology in the United States, and Yurii Nesterov from the Université Catholique de Louvain in Belgium won the WLA Prize in Computer Science or Mathematics "for their seminal work in convex optimization theory".

Daniela Rhodes from the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology in Cambridge, the United Kingdom, Karolin Luger from the University of Colorado Boulder, the US, and Timothy J. Richmond from ETH Zürich, Switzerland, were named the winners of the 2023 WLA Prize in Life Science or Medicine "for elucidating the structure of the nucleosome at the atomic level".

Wu Xiangdong, executive director of the WLA and chairman of the WLA Prize Management Committee, said the five laureates will attend the award ceremony in Shanghai on Nov 6.

Roger Kornberg, WLA chairman and a Nobel laureate in chemistry, said the prize will support original basic research and encourage scientists to strive to achieve more for the common good of mankind.

US computer science and statistician Michael I. Jordan and German biochemist Dirk Gorlich won the inaugural WLA Prize last year.

Related news


Most popular in 24h

MoreTop news


Back to top About Us | Jobs | Contact Us | Privacy Policy
Copyright ©1999-2023 All rights reserved.
Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited.
[网上传播视听节目许可证(0106168)] [京ICP证040655号]
[京公网安备 11010202009201号] [京ICP备05004340号-1]