China, Singapore to implement 30-day visa-free policy from Feb. 9

2024-01-25 Editor : Mo Honge ECNS App Download

(ECNS) -- Passport holders from China and Singapore will be exempt from visas for entry into each other's countries for purposes like tourism, family visits, business, and other private affairs, with a stay of no more than 30 days.

The agreement will officially come into effect on Feb. 9, 2024 (Chinese New Year's Eve).

Government representatives of the two countries signed the "Agreement between the Government of the People's Republic of China and the Government of the Republic of Singapore on Mutual Visa Exemption for Holders of Ordinary Passports" on Thursday.

For activities requiring prior approval, like working, news reporting in the host country, and staying for more than 30 days, the corresponding visas must be obtained before entering the host country.

China has signed mutual visa exemption agreements with 157 countries, covering different passport types, and with 44 countries for simplified visa procedures or arrangements. It has achieved comprehensive visa exemption with 22 countries, including Singapore, the Maldives, and Kazakhstan.

In addition, more than 60 countries and regions grant Chinese citizens visa-free or visa-on-arrival privileges. Outbound travel for Chinese citizens has significantly improved.

Wu Xi, director general of the Department of Consular Affairs of China's Ministry of Foreign Affairs, said the country has implemented a series of measures to facilitate people-to-people exchanges, demonstrating China's determination to promote high-level opening-up.

China welcomes friends from all over the world to visit, do business, invest, and study in the country, Wu said.


Most popular in 24h

MoreTop news


Back to top About Us | Jobs | Contact Us | Privacy Policy
Copyright ©1999-2024 All rights reserved.
Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited.
[网上传播视听节目许可证(0106168)] [京ICP证040655号]
[京公网安备 11010202009201号] [京ICP备05004340号-1]